Radio Flyer

When members of D.C.'s Hoover (Dischord) and Chicago's Gauge decided to form a group in April 1995, they descended upon Chicago where they wrote, collaborated, and recorded in one week. Following six days of songwriting, the band drove to the Knights of Columbus Hall in Arlington Heights to play a single show. The album, In Their Strange White Armor, was recorded the next day.

In Their Strange White Armor proved to be a fascinating collaboration and the results were highly indicative of the musicianship behind its creation. Merging precise, flawless song structures with impeccable drumming, Radio Flyer was Alex Dunham (ex-Hoover, Regulator Watts), Kevin J. Frank (ex-Gauge, Sweater Weather, Traluma, Sky Corvair, Haymarket Riot), Ryan Rapsys (ex-Gauge, Sweater Weather, Euphone, Heroic Doses, Joan of Arc), and Paul Obrecht (Sweater Weather).

Following the Arlington Heights show, tour plans were talked about but fell through when Dunham returned to D.C. Frank, Rapsys, and Obrecht continued to play in Sweater Weather before venturing onto their many other projects.

Related Artists