of Montreal
Coquelicot Asleep In The Poppies: A Variety of Whimsical Verse
Apr 23, 2001

  • Buy
    180-Gram Black
    Hurry! Only 5 left!
  • Buy
    • Booklet features 16 paintings by David Barnes.
Show Bundles

of Montreal's major voice Kevin Barnes has unparalleled talent to write lyrics that double as relatable adult situations and children's fable. This trend continues on Coquelicot Asleep In The Poppies. While there are come similarities to their previous efforts Bedside Drama and The Gay Parade, Coquelicot is more ambitious in its concept, arrangements, lyrics, and even artwork. As with other of Montreal albums, this one works as a concept, but the songs also stand on their own, which is even more impressive.

The songs are awash in melodies and harmony, a trademark of of Montreal's previous work as well as other Elephant 6 related bands. Barnes continues to write amazingly creative lyrics full of imagery, even including interludes of story on "Lecithin's Tale of a DNA Experiment That Went Terribly Awry" and "The Events Leading Up to the Collapse of Detective Dullight." "Let's Do Everything for the First Time" is classic of Montreal, while "Penelope" has a Syd Barrett feel to it. Strings are the main feature of mellow and beautiful "It's a Very Starry Night," and "It's Just So" could have been lifted right off of Bedside Drama. The band also incorporates a wide variety of instruments such as cello and violin to accordion and theremin.

Coquelicot builds perfectly upon The Gay Parade and shows the progression of a great band. - Tyson Bjorge


  • 1
    Good Morning Mr. Edminton (2:45)
  • 2
    Peacock Parasols (2:54)
  • 3
    Look at the Bell (1:43)
  • 4
    An Introduction for Isabell (3:29)
  • 5
    Let's Do Everything for the First Time Forever (2:38)
  • 6
    Coquelicot's Tea Party (0:43)
  • 7
    Rose Robert (2:26)
  • 8
    It's a Very Starry Night (3:48)
  • 9
    Mimi Merlot (2:57)
  • 10
    Butterscotching Mr. Lynn (1:37)
  • 11
    Coquelicot, Claude and Lecithin Dance Aboard the Ocean Liner (1:03)
  • 12
    Go Call You Mine (1:29)
  • 13
    The Events Leading Up to the Collapse of Detective Dullight (2:41)
  • 14
    Penelope (2:53)
  • 15
    A Dreamy Day of Dreaming of You (2:01)
  • 16
    Hello from Inside a Shell (3:37)
  • 17
    Lecithin's Tale of a DNA Experiment That Went Horribly Awry (3:14)
  • 18
    Its Just So (2:37)
  • 19
    The Frozen Island (3:58)
  • 20
    Upon Settling on the Frozen Island, Lecithin Presents Claude and Coquelicot with His Animal Creations for Them to Approve or Reject (1:07)
  • 21
    Let's Go for a Walk (2:11)
  • 22
    The Hopeless Opus or the Great Battle of the Unfriendly Ridiculous (17:56)


The songs on Coquelicot, though crammed full of saccharine pop hooks, display a level of complex structuring and arrangement that could put most pop records to shame.


Coquelicot builds perfectly upon The Gay Parade and shows the progression of a great band.

All Music Guide

Barnes elevates Coquelicot Asleep In The Poppies into the pantheon of seminal new pop masterpieces that test our very concepts of what modern pop should sound like.


No serious follower of artistic pop music can reasonably ignore this momentous release.


Related Artists

  • Member
    Also in...
  • Kevin Barnes
    DJ List Christee